Table of Contents
Does a car dealer have to disclose an accident in Texas?
The answer is no, disclosure is not required by law, but it is a very good idea. A dealer has a duty to disclose any known issue or defect that might affect the merchantability of a vehicle.
Is the dealership responsible for damage?
Let’s say someone hits your vehicle while it is at the dealership. The dealership will assist with any collision repairs (paid by any combination of you/the guilty party/the insurance company) and serve as a liaison between you and the insurance companies. But the dealership is not responsible for any damage caused.
What is the law on returning a used car in Texas?
After the Sale Under Texas Law, you do not have 3 days to cancel the purchase like you may with some transactions the dealer is required to register and title the vehicle in your name within 30 days, regardless of if you owe money on the vehicle to the dealer or another financier.
Can you sue a dealership for messing up your car?
As a California consumer, you have clearly protected rights to sue car dealers if you were deceived at the time of purchase. Used car buyers are the most common victims of fraud because car dealers often hide defects or lie about the defective condition of a car knowing that it may take months to discover the problem.
How can you tell if a used car has been in an accident?
Crouch down at the front and back corners of the car and look carefully down the side – a good clean car should be straight and everything should line up. A car that’s been in accident might have dents or doors and panels that don’t align properly.
Are private sales final?
After a vehicle is sold from one private party to another, the buyer can ask for their money back, but the seller generally does not have to agree to cancel the sale, absent a warranty or fraud.
How long can you return a used car in Texas?
After the Sale. Under Texas Law, you do not have 3 days to cancel the purchase like you may with some transactions the dealer is required to register and title the vehicle in your name within 30 days, regardless of if you owe money on the vehicle to the dealer or another financier.
What happens if the dealer did not disclose a salvage title?
This means that the person is notified either in conspicuous writing or told by the employees selling the car. Any attempt to hide this information may lead to legal action. This also means that the dealership is not permitted to say they don’t know about the salvage title.
Do you have to disclose a damaged car?
A customer purchasing damage vehicle which is now worth less than previously imagined. If the dealer is aware that a vehicle has been damaged the dealer is obligated to make the disclosure if the disclosure would make a difference in the purchasing decision. Thus, it is always a better option to disclose then not disclosed for dealers.
How does salvage title work on a car?
After some repairs are completed on salvage title vehicles, the car company sells them well above the value they are worth either before or after the incident. However, in order to ensure a sale occurs, these companies may intentionally hide the fact that the car was previously damaged beyond standard repair.
What to do if you get a salvage car from a car dealership?
If you do end up with a salvage vehicle, and the dealership didn’t disclose that status to you, ask for your money back. Demand a trade of your choice, of equal value. If they don’t make it right, see a lawyer to ensure that your rights are protected.