Menu Close

What are the departments of Paraguay?

What are the departments of Paraguay?

Administrative divisions: 17 departments (departamentos, singular – departamento) and 1 capital city: Alto Paraguay, Alto Parana, Amambay, Asuncion, Boqueron, Caaguazu, Caazapa, Canindeyu, Central, Concepcion, Cordillera, Guaira, Itapua, Misiones, Neembucu, Paraguari, Presidente Hayes, San Pedro.

How many departments are there in Paraguay?

Paraguay is divided into 17 administrative departments, and the capital, Asuncion. The departments (or provinces) are divided into districts, which in turn are divided into municipalities and rural districts.

What department is Asuncion Paraguay in?

Paraguay consists of 17 departments (Spanish: departamentos; singular – departamento) and one capital district (distrito capital)….Departments of Paraguay.

Department Distrito Capital
Capital Asunción
Population (2002 census) 512,112
Area (km2) 117
Districts 6

Who founded Asunción Paraguay?

The first colonial settlements were established by Domingo Martínez de Irala in the period 1536–56. The first Spanish colonists, unsuccessful in their search for gold, settled peacefully among the Guaraní in the region of Asunción, the present capital of Paraguay.

What is the population of Paraguay 2021?

The current population of Paraguay is 7,253,581 as of Saturday, November 20, 2021, based on Worldometer elaboration of the latest United Nations data. Paraguay 2020 population is estimated at 7,132,538 people at mid year according to UN data. Paraguay population is equivalent to 0.09% of the total world population.

Who founded Paraguay?

Colonization. The first Europeans in the area were Spanish explorers in 1516. The Spanish explorer Juan de Salazar de Espinosa founded the settlement of Asunción on 15 August 1537. The city eventually became the center of a Spanish colonial province of Paraguay.

Why is everyone bilingual in Paraguay?

The Constitution of Paraguay of 1992 declares it as a multicultural and bilingual country, establishing Spanish and Guaraní as official languages. For this reason, the country is often cited as one of the few countries in the world that is officially bilingual.

What was the capital of the Boqueron Department?

In 1945 Boquerón was split, with the northern portion separated off being renamed “Chaco”. The reduced remaining area continued to be called “Boquerón”, and the department’s capital was moved to Filadelfia (the previous capital had been Doctor Pedro P. Peña ).

How big is the Department of Boqueron in Paraguay?

Boquerón ( Spanish pronunciation: [bokeˈɾon]) is a department in the western region of Paraguay. It is the country’s largest department, with an area of 91,669 km 2 (35,394 sq mi), but its population is only 45,617 (2002 census). The department includes the Russian Mennonite colonies of Fernheim,…

What is the average annual temperature in Boqueron?

The average temperature is 25 °C. The average annual precipitation is 400 mm. Boquerón is also called Alto Chaco or Dry Chaco and in summer registers the highest temperatures in the country.