Menu Close

What constituency is Dagenham?

What constituency is Dagenham?

Dagenham and Rainham is a constituency represented in the House of Commons of the UK Parliament by Jon Cruddas of the Labour Party since its 2010 creation.

What constituency is Whitechapel in?

Whitechapel was a parliamentary constituency in the Whitechapel district of East London. In 1885 the seat was established as a division of the parliamentary borough of Tower Hamlets….Whitechapel (UK Parliament constituency)

Number of members one
Replaced by Whitechapel St George’s
Created from Tower Hamlets

Who is the MP for Dagenham?

MP details – Margaret Hodge, MP.

How many wards are in Barking and Dagenham?

The borough is divided into wards – these 17 from 2010: Abbey, Alibon, Becontree, Chadwell Heath *, Eastbrook *, Eastbury, Gascoigne, Goresbrook, Heath *, Longbridge, Mayesbrook, Parsloes, River *, Thames, Valence, Village * and Whalebone * wards. Each ward is represented by three Councillors.

What constituency is Tower Hamlets in?

How will the review affect Tower Hamlets? Currently there are two parliamentary constituencies in the borough: Poplar and Limehouse Constituency. Bethnal Green and Bow Constituency.

Who is the MP for Shadwell?

Apsana Begum

Apsana Begum MP
Majority 28,904 (47.2%)
Personal details
Born 25 May 1990 Shadwell, London, England
Political party Labour

Who was the MP for Dagenham Before 1945?

Before 1945 this Dagenham constituency and surrounding area was part of the Romford constituency . The MP for the predecessor seat since 1935, Labour ‘s John Parker, stood again on each occasion in this smaller successor area, representing it until 1983.

When did Dagenham and Rainham become a borough?

It was replaced at the 2010 general election largely by Dagenham and Rainham . 1945–1974: The Borough of Dagenham. 1974–1983: The London Borough of Barking wards of Chadwell Heath, Eastbrook, Fanshawe, Heath, River, Valence, and Village.

What is the constituency of Barking and Dagenham?

1983–2010: The London Borough of Barking and Dagenham wards of Alibon, Chadwell Heath, Eastbrook, Fanshawe, Heath, Marks Gate, River, Triptons, Valence, and Village. Following their review of parliamentary representation in North London, the Boundary Commission for England created a new constituency of Dagenham and Rainham .

Is the seat of Dagenham safe for Labour?

Dagenham was held by Labour since its inception and election predictions always rated it as a safe seat.