Menu Close

What were the 3 sections of the 13 colonies?

What were the 3 sections of the 13 colonies?

The geography and climate of the thirteen colonies separated them into three different regions: New England, the Middle Colonies, and the Southern Colonies. New England Coast Rocky coasts are common in New England.

What 3 categories were the 13 original colonies broken into?

Below are the original thirteen colonies, separated into three groups based on location: New England Colonies, Middle Colonies, and Southern Colonies.

What were three of the original 13 states?

The 13 original colonies were New Hampshire, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Connecticut, Delaware, Rhode Island, Maryland, Georgia, New York, Virginia, North Carolina and South Carolina.

What are the 13 original colonies in chronological order?

The Thirteen Colonies gave rise to eighteen present-day states: the original thirteen states (in chronological order of their ratification of the United States Constitution: Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, New York, North …

What country owned the 13 colonies?

Although the British controlled the 13 colonies on the east coast, the French took control of Canada, which is why it is not part of America today. The British tried to fight for that land, but were defeated and the French held control.

What are the 13 colonies in chronological order?

Virginia/Jamestown: 1607

  • Massachusetts: 1620
  • New Hampshire: 1623
  • Maryland: 1632-1634
  • Connecticut: 1636
  • Rhode Island: 1636
  • Delaware: 1638
  • North Carolina: 1663
  • South Carolina: 1663
  • New York: 1664
  • What are facts about the 13 colonies?

    The Thirteen Stars. In 1585,Sir Walter Raleigh founded the first English colony at Roanoke in North America.

  • Virginia. John Smith,and a number of rich Englishmen,sailed through the Chesapeake Bay to reach the Powhatan’s river.
  • New York.
  • Massachusetts Bay.
  • New Hampshire.
  • Maryland.
  • Connecticut.
  • Rhode Island.
  • Delaware.
  • North Carolina.
  • Who owned the 13 colonies?

    The Virginia Colony was founded by John Smith and other colonists backed by the London Company, at Jamestown . Original 13 – Massachusetts. Massachusetts was the Third Colony to be be established in Colonial America. The Massachusetts Colony was founded by John Winthrop and other Puritans , at Massachusetts Bay.