Menu Close

Where is the triple continental divide?

Where is the triple continental divide?

Pennsylvania features many amazing sites, but few are as geologically significant as the Triple Continental Divide in Potter County. Located near Gold, PA, north of Route 6, this area is the start of three major waterways: the Allegheny River, the Genesee River, and Pine Creek.

In what state is Triple Divide Peak?

state of Montana
Triple Divide Peak (8,025 feet (2,446 m)) is located in the Lewis Range, part of the Rocky Mountains in North America. The peak is a feature of Glacier National Park in the state of Montana in the United States.

How do I get to Triple Divide Peak?

Triple Divide Peak is just west of Triple Divide Pass which can be reached in a long day-hike from Cutbank Ranger Station or by backpacking from St. Mary to Red Eagle Lake and then to Triple Divide Pass.

Where is the Continental Divide in Glacier?

In Glacier, the divide follows the crest of the Lewis Range from Marias Pass to Flattop Mountain and then swings west to the crest of the Livingston Range, which it follows into Canada. The Continental Divide forms the western border of Waterton Lakes National Park, which lies completely on the east side of the divide.

Where is the Triple Divide Peak What is its significance?

Most people familiar with Glacier National Park are likely familiar with Triple Divide Peak. The significance of this mountain, near Cut Bank, is that it’s the point where rain water flowing down its slopes eventually ends up in the Pacific, Atlantic or Arctic Oceans.

Where is the Continental Divide in Minnesota?

The Laurentian Divide is Minnesota’s major continental divide and is a part of a vast, flat and rocky platform of land extending from west central Minnesota through central Canada. It was the first part of the North American continent to be elevated above sea level.

What is the Triple Divide in PA?

There’s a unique place in north central Pennsylvania at the top of three major watersheds. It’s called The Triple Divide. When a raindrop falls there it can split three ways: In one direction, it flows west to the Allegheny River, down the Mississippi watershed and into the Gulf of Mexico.

Can you climb Triple Divide Peak?

You’ll need two days and nearly 3,000 feet of climbing to complete the 16-mile out-and-back to the top. Start at the Cut Bank trailhead and gradually ascend along crystalline Cut Bank Creek for 3.9 miles to the Triple Divide Pass junction. Hang a right and hike .

Where is the Continental Divide between Idaho and Montana?

The Idaho/Montana section of the Continental Divide Trail (CDT) rolls 270 miles along the border with Montana from near Yellowstone in the south. It runs north passing through Targhee National Forest and Salmon National Forest.

Is the Continental Divide in Montana?

The Divide now rides the 9,000 feet and higher Centennial Mountains for much of the final stretch of the Montana/Idaho border. Roughly 30 miles from the pass, still following the Montana/Idaho border, the Divide smacks into Wyoming. Here, just inside Yellowstone National Park, Montana gives up the Continental Divide.

Where is the Laurentian Divide in MN?

Where does the water flow north in Minnesota?

On a big-picture basis, water that falls in Minnesota flows through one of three large water- sheds: north via the Red River to Hudson Bay, east via the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Seaway to the Atlantic Ocean, or south via the Mississippi River to the Gulf of Mexico.

What is the significance of the Triple Peek divide?

Triple Divide Peak is the only peak in the world where 2 Continental Divides meet at its summit, causing the water to flow into three separate oceans- the Atlantic Ocean, the Pacific Ocean and the Arctic Ocean! This makes the Triple Divide Area a very unique and special place that we are quite confident you’ll enjoy.

What is triple divide?

Triple divide. A triple divide or triple watershed is a point on the Earth’s surface where three drainage basins meet. A triple divide results from the intersection of two drainage divides.

What is Triple Divide Pass?

Triple Divide Pass – 14.2mi / 22.9km. Triple Divide Peak is so named because, based on which face of the peak a drop of precipitation lands, it will end up in one of three different oceans: the Atlantic, the Pacific or the Arctic. Triple Divide Pass is right below this peak and is the route between the Cut Bank area and St. Mary area of the Park.