Menu Close

Which countries border both the Atlantic and the Mediterranean?

Which countries border both the Atlantic and the Mediterranean?

Along with France and Morocco, it is one of only three countries to have both Atlantic and Mediterranean coastlines. Extending to 1,214 km (754 mi), the Portugal–Spain border is the longest uninterrupted border within the European Union.

What countries border the Mediterranean sea in Europe?

The countries surrounding the Mediterranean in clockwise order are Spain, France, Monaco, Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Greece, Turkey, Syria, Lebanon, Israel, Egypt, Libya, Tunisia, Algeria, and Morocco; Malta and Cyprus are island countries in the sea.

What European country is bordered by France Portugal the Atlantic Ocean and the Mediterranean sea?

Spain is located in southwestern Europe. Spain is bordered by the Bay of Biscay, the Balearic Sea, the Mediterranean Sea, and the Alboran Sea; Portugal to the west and France and Andorra to the north.

How many countries are in the Black Sea?

Six countries border with the Black Sea, including Ukraine to the north, Russia and Georgia to the east, Turkey to the south, and Bulgaria and Romania to the west.

Does Portugal border both the Mediterranean and the Atlantic?

Portugal is located on the western coast of the Iberian Peninsula and plateau, that divides the inland Mediterranean Sea from the Atlantic Ocean.

What 3 countries share a border with Spain?

Spain is bordered by Portugal in the west, by France and Andorra in the northeast. It shares borders with Morocco at the Spanish coastal exclaves of Ceuta and Melilla, the two permanently inhabited Spanish autonomous cities in Northern Africa. Spain also shares maritime borders with Algeria and Italy.

What capitals are on the Mediterranean sea?

Three in a row. Add Valletta in Malta, and we come up with a total of seven capital cities that are indisputably on the Mediterranean coast. tl:dr Monaco, Beirut, Tel Aviv, Tripoli, Tunis, Algiers, Valletta.

How many continents border the Mediterranean sea?

three continents
Brief introduction. The Mediterranean Sea region — the largest of the semi-enclosed European seas — is surrounded by 22 countries, which together share a coastline of 46 000 km. It is also home to around 480 million people living across three continents: Africa, Asia and Europe.

Is all of Portugal on the Atlantic Ocean?

Portugal is situated at the south-west point of Europe and also includes the Madeira and Azores archipelagos in the Atlantic Ocean. Mainland Portugal occupies an area of 88,889 km2. It is 218 km wide and 561 km long. It has 832 km of Atlantic coast and a 1,215 km border with Spain.

Which is the second smallest country bordering the Meditteranean sea?

With its capital in Rome, the country has 116,348 square miles of territory. At just 122 square miles, Malta is the second-smallest nation bordering the Meditteranean Sea. Its population is 416,338, and the capital is Valletta.

Are there any countries that border the Mediterranean Sea?

1 Africa . Algeria covers 919,595 square miles and has a population of 40,969,443. Its capital is Algiers. 2 Asia . Israelhas 8,019 square miles of territory with a population of 8,299,706. 3 Europe . Albaniais 11,099 square miles in area with a population of 3,047,987. 4 Territories Bordering the Mediterranean

Is the Mediterranean Sea a large body of water?

The Mediterranean Sea is a large body of water with Europe to the north, northern Africa to the south, and southwestern Asia to the east.

What is the population of the capital of Libya?

The capital is Cairo. Libya has a population of 6,653,210 spread over 679,362 square miles, but about a sixth of its residents are centered in the capital of Tripoli, the nation’s most populous city. Morocco’s population is 33,986,655.