Menu Close

Who is the first recipient of Bharat Ratna award 2 points?

Who is the first recipient of Bharat Ratna award 2 points?

The provision of Bharat Ratna was introduced in 1954. The first-ever Indian to receive this award was the famous scientist, Dr. Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman. Since then, many dignitaries, each a whiz in varied aspects of their career, have received this coveted award.

Who got first Bharat Ratna award posthumously?

Minister Lal Bahadur Shastri
Rajagopalachari, philosopher Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, and scientist C.V. Raman. Since 1954, Bharat Ratna Award has been presented to 45 individuals including 12 who were granted posthumous awards. Former Prime Minister Lal Bahadur Shastri became the first individual to be honoured posthumously.

Who received Bharat Ratna 2020?

Bharat Ratna Awards 2020- Pranab Mukherjee, Nanaji Deshmukh & Bhupen Hazarika Awarded. “Jewel of India”, known as Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award of the country.

Who was the first woman to receive Bharat Ratna?

Indira Gandhi
Indira Gandhi, the third and first woman Prime Minister of India, has been awarded the highest civilian award, Bharat Ratna, of India in the year 1971 for her great involvement in the field of Public Affairs of the state, Uttar Pradesh.

Who got first Padma Bhushan award?

Tenzing Norgay (right, awarded in 1959) was one of the first two individuals known to reach the summit of Mount Everest, which he accomplished with Edmund Hillary (left) on 29 May 1953….Recipients.

Year 1958
Recipient Kumar Padma Siva Shankara Menon
Field Civil Service
State Kerala

Who were the first “Bharat Ratna” Award winner?

The first recipients of the Bharat Ratna were politician C. Rajagopalachari, philosopher Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan , and scientist C. V. Raman, who were honoured in 1954. Since then, the award has been bestowed upon 48 individuals, including 14 who were awarded posthumously.

Who is awarded Bharat Ratna?

And till date, Tendulkar remains the only athlete to be bestowed the Bharat Ratna. Chimni, who was also part of the Indian team that won bronze medals at the 1968 and 1972 Olympics, pointed out some of the numerous efforts made over the years to impress upon successive central governments to honour Dhyan Chand with Bharat Ratna.

Which leaf is used in Bharat Ratna Award?

Since 1954 a total of 48 individuals have been bestowed with Bharat Ratna Award. The Bharat Ratna Award has an image of the Sun along with the words “Bharat Ratna” inscribed in Devanagari script, on a peepal leaf.

What does Bharat Ratna winner get?

The recommendations for the Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President, with a maximum of three nominees being awarded per year. The recipients receive a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a peepal leaf-shaped medallion . There is no monetary grant associated with the award.