Menu Close

Can you go to jail for simple assault in PA?

Can you go to jail for simple assault in PA?

Most cases of simple assault are charged as a 2nd-degree misdemeanor, with penalties including 1 to 2 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.

Do you get arrested for simple assault?

Simple assault is a misdemeanor punishable by six months to one year in jail, depending on the specific provisions of each state’s sentencing statute or sentencing guidelines.

What is the minimum sentence for simple assault in Pennsylvania?

The penalties for simple assault under Section 15.66 of the Pennsylvania Code are as follows: As a misdemeanor of the first degree, the penalties include up to a $10,000 fine and up to 5 years in prison. As a misdemeanor of the second degree, it’s punishable by up to a $5,000 fine and up to 2 years behind bars.

Is simple assault considered a violent crime in PA?

Simple assault is a serious crime, and a conviction could result in a significant sentence and fine. If you are facing charges, you should talk with a local criminal defense attorney who has experience defending such charges in your county.

What is considered simple assault in PA?

Pennsylvania’s simple assault laws are outlined in the Crimes Code in 18 PA C.S.A. 2701. Under this statute, simple assault is defined as an intentional attempt to cause another person bodily harm. In these fights, even attempting to punch another person is considered assault, even if they miss and don’t punch anyone.

What is simple assault charge in PA?

What grade is simple assault in PA?

–Simple assault is a misdemeanor of the second degree unless committed: (1) in a fight or scuffle entered into by mutual consent, in which case it is a misdemeanor of the third degree; or (2) against a child under 12 years of age by an adult 21 years of age or older, in which case it is a misdemeanor of the first …

Can you go to jail for common assault?

Common assault is the least serious of the assault charges. It is governed by s39 of the Criminal Justice Act 1988. The maximum prison sentence for common assault is 6 months. You can avoid prison even if these factors exist if there are what are known as mitigating factors.

Is verbal abuse a crime in PA?

Pennsylvania law provides a remedy for victims of physical abuse and in some instances, verbal abuse. This remedy is known as a Protection from Abuse Order, or commonly referred to as a “PFA”. A PFA Order is a court order that prohibits any contact between the aggressor and the victim.

What happens if you are charged with simple assault in PA?

Simple assault in Pennsylvania is a second-degree misdemeanor. While a misdemeanor is not as serious as a felony, that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t worry about your charge. Misdemeanor charges can carry very severe consequences. If convicted of simple assault, you face the following penalties:

When does simple assault become a misdemeanor?

Simple assault is prosecuted as a misdemeanor of the first degree if the suspect was 18 or older and the victim was a child under the age of 12. Simple assault is a misdemeanor of the second degree, unless the suspect was involved in a physical fight where both parties entered into it by mutual consent.

Can a police officer arrest you for simple assault?

In some cases, the police may be able to arrest you on the spot for simple assault, if they personally witnessed you commit the crime or otherwise have reason to believe you did so. In other cases, prior to making an arrest, the police will conduct an investigation into a crime that has been reported.

How old do you have to be to assault a child in PA?

If you are over the age of 18 and assaulted a child who is 12 years old or younger, it is a first-degree misdemeanor. In that case, you will face the following penalties if convicted: