Table of Contents
How do you qualify as a domestic partner?
The requirements to be domestic partners are:
- the two must live together;
- the two must agree to be jointly responsible for each other’s basic living expenses during the Domestic Partnership;
- neither person may be married or a member of another domestic partnership;
What’s the difference between a domestic partnership and marriage?
A domestic partnership is, essentially, an alternative to marriage for same sex couples. marriage which does not require you to show any proof of commitment aside from a marriage certificate. In many states, domestic partners can adopt their child’s partner through Second Parent Adoption.
What rights does a domestic partner have?
The range of benefits that may be available to domestic partners varies from state to state but often includes health, dental, vision, and life insurance; sick leave; housing rights; and the use of recreational facilities.
Does WA recognize domestic partnership?
In Washington State, State Registered Domestic Partners (SRDPs) have the same rights provided by the state as their opposite-sex married peers. Domestic partnerships are not recognized under federal immigration law.
How old do you have to be to be a domestic partner in Washington State?
You can register as domestic partners in Washington State only if: One of you is at least 62 years old; The other is at least 18 years old; You are both legally capable of consenting to the domestic partnership;
What are the requirements for a domestic partnership?
To enter into a state registered domestic partnership the two persons involved must meet the following requirements: (1) Both persons share a common residence; (2) Both persons are at least eighteen years of age and at least one of the persons is sixty-two years of age or older;
What does RCW 26.60.020 state registered domestic partnership?
A subdivision that uses the definition of state registered domestic partner as set forth in RCW 26.60.020 shall notify the secretary of state. The secretary of state shall compile and maintain a list of all subdivisions that have filed such notice.
Where to get a domestic partnership form in Washington?
You can mail the signed and notarized form with the filing fee, or hand deliver your forms to the Secretary of State’s Office in Olympia, Washington. You can get the forms from the Secretary of State’s website or Olympia office, and from county court clerks’ offices.