Menu Close

What are the 15 countries of Caricom?

What are the 15 countries of Caricom?

These member states are Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat (a British overseas territory in the Leeward Islands), Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, and Trinidad and Tobago.

How many member states make up Caricom?

15 member states
The Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM) brings together 15 member states and 5 associate member states in the Caribbean.

What is the most populated Caribbean island?

Cuba. As the largest island in the Caribbean by size, it makes sense that Cuba would also be the most populated Caribbean island. With just over 11 million inhabitants, you’ll find Cuba bursting with vibrant locals who love to dive into their incredibly rich history with visitors eager to listen.

Which CARICOM country is the largest of the Caribbean island?

Bermuda has 181 islands, the largest island is Main Island , sometimes called Bermuda. Eight of the larger islands are connected by bridges, and are the populated islands Bermuda became an associate member of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM ) in July 2003.

Which countries are members of the CARIFTA?

In October 1972 Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, and Barbados (called the “more developed countries” within CARIFTA) agreed to deepen the integration process, forming the Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM), which was formalized by the Treaty of Chaguaramas on July 4, 1973, with the following countries as members: Antigua and Barbuda, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, Saint Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the

Which Caribbean country is the head of CARICOM?

The headquarters of CARICOM is located in Georgetown, Guyana, and is headed by a secretary-general who is responsible for providing leadership to the development of the community. CARICOM also has its own flag, which was approved by the Heads of Government Conference in November 1983.

What are the four largest Caribbean countries?

If we are defining Caribbean countries as limited to the islands which comprise the Caribbean islands and which are independent, then, from largest to smallest, the four largest are: Cuba, Dominican Republic, Haiti and Jamaica.