Menu Close

What are the branches of the Constitution?

What are the branches of the Constitution?

To ensure a separation of powers, the U.S. Federal Government is made up of three branches: legislative, executive and judicial.

What are the 3 branches of government and what is their main role?

Legislative—Makes laws (Congress, comprised of the House of Representatives and Senate) Executive—Carries out laws (president, vice president, Cabinet, most federal agencies) Judicial—Evaluates laws (Supreme Court and other courts)

What part of the Constitution explains the three branches of government?

Article 3 of the United States Constitution establishes the Judicial Branch, which consists of the United States Supreme Court. The Judicial Branch interprets the laws passed by the Legislative Branch.

What are the three branches of government in the Constitution?

The Constitution created the 3 branches of government: The Legislative Branch to make the laws. Congress is made up of two houses, the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Executive Branch to enforce the laws.

What does the constitution say about the judicial branch?

The Constitution says that the Judicial branch can do things the other two branches cannot, such as interpret the law to make sure that what Congress proposes is in agreement with the Constitution. Federal courts hear cases when the U.S. Government sues someone or is being sued.

Which is the legislative branch of the government?

The legislative branch drafts proposed laws, confirms or rejects presidential nominations for heads of federal agencies, federal judges, and the Supreme Court, and has the authority to declare war. This branch includes Congress (the Senate and House of Representatives) and special agencies and offices that provide support services to Congress.

What does the constitution say about the executive branch?

The Executive Branch. Article II, section 1 of the Constitution states, “The executive Power shall be vested in a President of the United States of America. He shall hold his Office during the Term of four Years,” in effect establishing the executive branch of the United States government and the office of the president of the United States.