Menu Close

What are the tectonic plate boundaries?

What are the tectonic plate boundaries?

There are three main types of plate boundaries:

  • Convergent boundaries: where two plates are colliding. Subduction zones occur when one or both of the tectonic plates are composed of oceanic crust.
  • Divergent boundaries – where two plates are moving apart.
  • Transform boundaries – where plates slide passed each other.

What are tectonic plates easy definition?

A tectonic plate (also called lithospheric plate) is a massive, irregularly shaped slab of solid rock, generally composed of both continental and oceanic lithosphere. Plate size can vary greatly, from a few hundred to thousands of kilometers across; the Pacific and Antarctic Plates are among the largest.

How are tectonic plate boundaries formed?

If two tectonic plates collide, they form a convergent plate boundary. When two plates are moving away from each other, we call this a divergent plate boundary. Along these boundaries, magma rises from deep within the Earth and erupts to form new crust on the lithosphere.

What are the four types of plate boundaries?

The point where two or more plates meet is known as a plate boundary. There are four main types of plate boundary. These are constructive, destructive, conservative and collision margins.

What are some different types of tectonic plate boundaries?

Tectonic plate interactions are classified into three basic types: Divergent boundaries are areas where plates move away from each other, forming either mid-oceanic ridges or rift valleys. Convergent boundaries are areas where plates move toward each other and collide. Transform boundaries occur when two plates grind past each other with only limited convergent or divergent activity.

What are the different types of plate boundary?

Divergent boundaries: where new crust is generated as the plates pull away from each other.

  • Convergent boundaries: where crust is destroyed as one plate dives under another.
  • Transform boundaries: where crust is neither produced nor destroyed as the plates slide horizontally past each other.
  • What are the 12 major tectonic plates?

    The current continental and oceanic plates include: the Eurasian plate , Australian-Indian plate, Philippine plate , Pacific plate , Juan de Fuca plate , Nazca plate , Cocos plate , North American plate , Caribbean plate , South American plate , African plate, Arabian plate , the Antarctic plate, and the Scotia plate.