Menu Close

What are the types of Nobel Prize?

What are the types of Nobel Prize?

609 Nobel Prizes

Nobel Prize Number of prizes Number of laureates
Medicine 112 224
Literature 114 118
Peace 103 109+28
Economic sciences 53 89

What does Nobel Prize include?

Each Nobel Prize consists of a gold medal, a diploma bearing a citation, and a sum of money, the amount of which depends on the income of the Nobel Foundation. A Nobel Prize is either given entirely to one person, divided equally between two persons, or shared by three persons.

How many Nobel Prizes are awarded each year?

The economics prize was added later in his memory. Total six prizes are awarded as Nobel prizes every year: Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics – Awarded by the Sveriges Riksbank, Bank of Sweden. So far Indians 5 Indians got Noble prizes for their services in the respective fields.

Who are the members of the Nobel Prize Foundation?

The Foundation Board consists of five Swedish or Norwegian citizens. Alfred Nobel has made provision for only five prizes under five categories through his will. The economics prize was added later in his memory.

When did Alfred Nobel win the Nobel Prize?

First awarded in 1901, the Nobel Prize medals depict Alfred Nobel (1833-1896). © Nobel Media. Photo: Alexander Mahmoud Between 1901 and 2020, the Nobel Prizes and the Prize in Economic Sciences were awarded 603 times to 962 people and organisations.

Who is the winner of the Nobel Prize in economics?

The winner of the prize was Paul Krugman. The Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, officially known as The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel (Swedish: Sveriges riksbanks pris i ekonomisk vetenskap till Alfred Nobels minne ), is an award funded by Sveriges Riksbank and is annually awarded by