Menu Close

What is considered Chicago metro area?

What is considered Chicago metro area?

The Chicago metropolitan area, or Chicagoland, is the metropolitan area that includes the city of Chicago, Illinois, and its suburbs. The population is about 9.5 million people and CSA population of 9.9 million people, it is the third largest metropolitan area in the United States.

Where do the Chicago suburbs end?

So, Ellis said, the suburbs end to the west at the Fox River, to the south along the Lincoln Highway, and stretch along the train lines as far south as Michigan City, IN and as far north as Kenosha, WI.

Which states are part of Chicagoland?

Chicagoland consists of the Chicago metropolitan area in northeastern Illinois, including Chicago and its surrounding suburbs. Broader definitions also include parts of Southeast Wisconsin and Northwestern Indiana.

Is South Bend part of Chicagoland?

For example, is South Bend part of the Chicago metro area? No way. The train takes two hours to get to South Bend. Nobody commutes from there to Chicago on a daily basis.

What counties are in Chicago?

Cook County
“Collar counties” is a term applied to the five counties that surround the centrally located Cook County in the Chicago metropolitan area: DuPage County, Kane County, Lake County, McHenry County, and Will County. There is no documentation of the origin of the term, but it probably came into use in the 1960s or 1970s.

Is all of Chicago Cook County?

More than 40% of all residents of Illinois live in Cook County. Its county seat is Chicago, the most populous city in Illinois and the third-most-populous city in the United States.

What do locals call Chicago?

Chi-town is a nickname for the city of Chicago, Illinois.

Which state is not a part of Chicagoland?

In this guide, Chicagoland refers only to the region of the metropolitan area which is within the state of Illinois (the narrower definition) and does not include the adjacent urban area in southeastern Wisconsin, nor the adjacent urban area in northwestern Indiana (the broadest definition).

What counties are part of Chicagoland?

The Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce defines it as all of Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry, and Will counties.

What counties are included in the Chicago metro area?

Chicago Metropolitan statistical area

  • Cook County (5,287,037)
  • DeKalb County (107,333)
  • DuPage County (932,541)
  • Grundy County (48,421)
  • Kankakee County (113,449)
  • Kane County (511,892)
  • Kendall County (104,821)
  • McHenry County (320,961)

Where is the Chicago metropolitan area located in Illinois?

Metropolitan statistical area. The Chicago Metropolitan Statistical Area was originally designated by the United States Census Bureau in 1950. It comprised the Illinois counties of Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake and Will, along with Lake County in Indiana.

What to do in the southwest of Michigan?

Beaches, amusements and the freshest tastes around are all on the agenda during a visit to Michigan’s Southwest Region. Known for quaint beachtowns and miles of sandy beaches, the opportunities to enjoy the best of the Lake Michigan shoreline are endless.

How many people work in the Chicago metropolitan area?

The Chicago metropolitan area has one of the world’s largest and most diversified economies, with more than six million full and part-time employees, and generating an annual gross regional product (GRP) of $689 billion in 2018. The region is home to more than 400 major corporate headquarters, including 31 in the Fortune 500.

What was the original settlement of the Chicago metropolitan area?

In an in-depth historical analysis, Keating (2004, 2005) examined the origins of 233 settlements that by 1900 had become suburbs or city neighborhoods of the Chicago metropolitan area. The settlements began as farm centers (41%), industrial towns (30%), residential railroad suburbs (15%), and recreational/institutional centers (13%).