Menu Close

Who was the first team to win the Stanley Cup in the NHL?

Who was the first team to win the Stanley Cup in the NHL?

Montreal Hockey Club
The first Cup was awarded in 1893 to Montreal Hockey Club, and winners from 1893 to 1914 were determined by challenge games and league play….

Stanley Cup
First winner Montreal Hockey Club (4) (AHAC)
Most wins Montreal Canadiens (24)
Most recent Tampa Bay Lightning (3)

Who won the Stanley Cup in 1?

Tampa Bay Lightning win Stanley Cup, defeating Montreal Canadiens 1-0 to claim back-to-back championships.

Who was the first NHL team to win the Stanley Cup three consecutive seasons?

1949: The Toronto Maple Leafs become the first NHL team to win the Cup in three consecutive seasons. 1958: The current one-piece Cup with five bands for the names of the winners is introduced.

Who was awarded the Stanley Cup in 1893?

1893: The Stanley Cup, a silver bowl that cost less than $50 at the time, is awarded to the Montreal A.A.A., whose affiliate, the Montreal Hockey Club, finished first in the Amateur Hockey Association of Canada, a five-team league. The Montreal team won seven of its eight games.

When did the NHL stop using the Stanley Cup?

Since 1926, the Stanley Cup has been awarded solely by the National Hockey League every year except 2005, when the NHL was on strike. The original trophy that Lord Stanley donated was retired in 1962. Since then, only one trophy has served in its place, making the Stanley Cup the only trophy in major sports that is not reproduced each year.

What was the predecessor of the National Hockey League?

1910: The National Hockey Association, the predecessor of the National Hockey League, is founded. The NHA quickly became the best league in Canada and held the Cup for four years. 1912: Trustees mandate that the Cup was only to be defended at the end of the champion’s regular season.