Menu Close

Who won the Daytona 500 in 1970?

Who won the Daytona 500 in 1970?

Pete Hamilton
1970 Daytona 500

Race details
Driver David Pearson Holman Moody
Laps 82
No. 40 Pete Hamilton Petty Enterprises

Who won the Nascar championship in 1975?

Richard Petty
Richard Petty, the 1975 NASCAR Winston Cup Series Champion. This would be his 6th of his 7 championships.

How many times did Jeff Gordon win Daytona 500?

He won his first title the following year in the 1995 season, and went on to win it in 1997, 1998, and 2001. He also won the Daytona 500 three times in 1997, 1999, and 2005. As of 2017, he ranks third on the all-time Cup wins list with 93, the most in NASCAR’s modern era (1972–present).

Who won the Daytona 500 in 1972?

A. J. Foyt
The 1972 Daytona 500, the 14th running of the event, was held on February 20, 1972 at Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida….1972 Daytona 500.

Race details
Laps 167
No. 21 A. J. Foyt Wood Brothers Racing
Television in the United States

Who won the Daytona 500 in 1980?

Buddy Baker
The 22nd annual Daytona 500 was held February 17, 1980, at Daytona International Speedway….1980 Daytona 500.

Race details
Driver Buddy Baker Ranier-Lundy Racing
Laps 143
No. 28 Buddy Baker Ranier-Lundy Racing

How fast were the Nascar’s in 1970?

1970 American 500

Race details
Average speed 117.811 miles per hour (189.598 km/h)
Attendance 20,000
Pole position
Driver Charlie Glotzbach Nichels Engineering

What is a Daytona car?

The Dodge Daytona is an automobile which was produced by the Chrysler Corporation under their Dodge division from 1984 to 1993. It was a front-wheel drive hatchback based on the Chrysler G platform, which was derived from the Chrysler K platform. The Chrysler Laser was an upscale rebadged version of the Daytona.

Who won the Nascar championship in 1974?

Richard Petty was Winston Cup champion at the end of the season finishing 567.45 points ahead of Cale Yarborough, while David Pearson finished a strong third in points despite only nineteen starts. Earl Ross was named NASCAR Rookie of the Year.

Who has won Daytona 500 3 times?

1971: Richard Petty becomes the first three-time winner, including the 1964 and 1966 races. Through 2015, only 5 drivers have won 3 or more Daytona 500s. 1972: A. J. Foyt cruised into the lead on lap 80 and stayed there through the 200 lap race, lapping the entire field.

Who Won Daytona 500 multiple times?

Who has won the most Daytona 500 races? Richard Petty has seven Daytona 500 victories (1964, 1966, 1971, 1973, 1974, 1979, 1981). Cale Yarborough is next with four (1968, 1977, 1983, 1984).

Who are the past winners of the Daytona 500?

Denny Hamlin is the reigning Daytona 500 champion, winning the race in back-to-back years (2019, 2020). He won his third “Great American Race” in four years, having also claimed the title in 2016. Who is the oldest Daytona 500 winner? Bobby Allison remains the oldest driver to win the Daytona 500. He won the 1988 race at 50 years old.

Who was the youngest winner of the Daytona 500?

He won the 1988 race at 50 years old. Who is the youngest Daytona 500 winner? Trevor Bayne became the youngest Daytona 500 winner in 2011 at 20 years old.

What was the fastest time in the Daytona 500?

‡ – Record for fastest Daytona 500 at 177.602 mph (285.823 km/h) set by Buddy Baker in 1980. 1 – Originally started 39th, but had to go back to the 43rd position due to changing to a backup car after crashing in the qualifying races.

Who is the only foreigner to win the Daytona 500?

List of winners. † – Andretti was born in a part of Italy that is now in Croatia, but became a naturalized American citizen. He remains the only foreigner to win the race. ‡ – Record for fastest Daytona 500 at 177.602 mph (285.823 km/h) set by Buddy Baker in 1980.