Table of Contents
Can my sister legally live with me?
2 attorney answers A parent whose parental rights have not been terminated has parental rights, which includes the right to determine where a child lives until the child is 18. If your mother consents, your sister can live with you.
At what age can a child choose to live with a relative?
Children can’t choose where to live until they are 18 years old. Each case is different, and the judge will decide how much weight to give to the child’s preference using broad discretion. Courts will generally give more value to older children’s opinions than those of younger children.
At what age can a child decide which parent to live with in Tennessee?
When can my child decide which parent to live with? Under Tennessee statute, the court shall consider the reasonable preference of the child over the age of 12. The court may choose to hear the preference of a child under the age of 12.
How old do you have to be to be a guardian?
18 years old
To be eligible to become a guardian, you must: Be at least 18 years old. Live in the United States.
How old do you have to be to get child custody in Tennessee?
Yes, the Tennessee statutes on child custody allow the judge who is hearing the matter take a child’s preference into accout when the child is 12 years old. More weight is given to an older child but the court can her your daughter’s preference. Having an attorney represent you would definitely be beneficial.
How old do you have to be to get guardianship in TN?
Guardianship is the term used to describe the legal relationship (ARC, 2011). Tennessee, however, recognizes the ‘mature minor exception’ to permission for behavioral health treatment, which defines the age of consent to mental health treatment and/or services as 16 years of age.
How old do you have to be to get an intermediate license in Tennessee?
At 16 years old, permit holders can apply for an intermediate license. The applicant must have held a learner permit for at least 180 days without accumulating six or more traffic violation points.
How old do you have to be to get a restricted license in Tennessee?
Level 2: The Tennessee Intermediate Restricted License. Applicants for Tennessee ‘s Intermediate Restricted License must be a minimum of 16 years of age. All applicants must have held a Tennessee learner permit for a minimum of 180 days and pass a driving test.